God Loves You So Much!

When I left the prison a week ago Thursday, I had a very uncomfortable feeling. At first, I thought it was due to my concern about how well I was able to respond to the men’s questions. But after talking that through, the feeling was still there. I realized that the feeling was coming from a deeper place.

In the past, I’ve had feelings come into my body that were for my instruction. 430px-A_woman_thinkingWhen I took time to sit with them, I learned something. Sometimes, they have even helped me know what I should do next.


My body was picking up on something my mind could not. It had entered my body below my common, everyday level of consciousness. I needed to allow the feeling to rise, so I could determine its meaning. So, I took some time to stay with the feeling.

Two phrases came to mind: “God loves you so much!” and “Christ is still suffering for you!” My interpretation of those phrases was that the Christ in me began to suffer because the men were not able to see how much God loved them. Yesterday, I shared with them a metaphor that I hoped would give them at least an inkling of how much they are loved. This is what I told them.

“God loves you as much as there are leaves on every tree. This includes the number of leaves that are on every tree that I see that line the highway between my house and the prison. And the number of leaves that are on the trees that surround my house. And the number of leaves on the trees that surround your house. And the number of leaves on every tree along every street in my neighborhood. And the number of leaves that are on every tree around your neighborhood. And the number of leaves that there are on every tree around everyone else’s home, in everyone else’s neighborhood, town, or village that participates in this group. RainForestCanopyAnd the number of leaves that there are on every tree in everyone else’s neighborhood, town or village that does not participate in this group. And the number of leaves that there are on every tree in every other place between neighborhoods, villages, towns and cities, in our country and in every other country and in every other place that is not considered a country in this world. And the number of leaves that were on those trees last year in all of those places. And the number of leaves that will  be on all of those trees next year in all of those places. And the number of leaves that were on all of those trees in previous years in all of those places. And the number of leaves that will be on every tree in all of those places, as well as in all the other places everywhere that have been or yet will be!

That is how much God loves you.”

This is how much God loves you too! An amount that is too great for our conscious minds to comprehend.

4 thoughts on “God Loves You So Much!

  1. Can you tell us more about listening to your body’s discomforts with what appears to us as a mental or spiritual (i.e., a “head” problem), Rhonda? How do these physical feelings register, in your experience, and how do you bring the roots of your discomfort into your consciousness? Do you have guidelines you can share about how you tell the difference between discomfort because you need to be more faithful on the one hand and on the other, discomfort because what’s asked of you to be faithful is truly scary and hard?

    Thank you for sharing this analogy! How did the guys respond?

    • Mariellen, Your questions are good but difficult to answer.

      I believe these feelings register like any other feeling, they just come from “outside myself”. I have gained access to feeling that is outside typical experience through years of daily Centering Prayer practice. I bring the roots of the feeling into consciousness by attending to the feeling, directing my inward focus onto it, and waiting for words to come. My recent reading of “Trauma and the Soul” (by Donald Kalsched) leads me think that when I do this I’m allowing “right brain” experience to connect with “left brain” rationality. When those two can come together, it results in illumination!

      The men expressed gratitude for my sharing this with them. I shared it here as part of the leading to name the spiritual condition of the world…, witnessing to the presence of the Holy Spirit among those whom some despise. God is yearning for people to know that they are loved by God, all people. Perhaps knowing that God loves those who have committed crimes will help more people recognize that God loves them.

  2. Pingback: Fruit of the Spirit | Naming Spirit

Leave a Reply

